Members of Congress Launch PFAS Task Force

Fourteen members of the U.S. House of Representatives announced on January 23 the creation of a Congressional PFAS Task Force. The bipartisan group’s purpose will be to highlight challenges of PFAS (per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances) contamination and increase attention on addressing these challenges.

The PFAS Task Force will work to bring PFAS cleanup to the forefront of the congressional agenda by holding informational events to educate members of Congress and their staff, crafting legislation, meeting with committees and congressional leadership, and fighting for more robust funding through federal appropriations.

Members of the task force include:

  • Congressman Jack Bergman (R-Michigan)
  • Congressman Brendan Boyle (D-Pennsylvania)
  • Congresswoman Madeleine Dean (D-Pennsylvania)
  • Congressman Antonio Delgado (D-New York)
  • Congresswoman Debbie Dingell (D-Michigan)
  • Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pennsylvania)
  • Congressman Dan Kildee (D-Michigan)
  • Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence (D-Michigan)
  • Congressman Andy Levin (D-Michigan)
  • Congressman Ben Ray Lujan (D-New Mexico)
  • Congresswoman Elissa Slotkin (D-Michigan)
  • Congresswoman Haley Stevens (D-Michigan)
  • Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (D-Michigan)
  • Congressman Fred Upton (R-Michigan).

PFAS will be a focus of this year’s 2019 NGWA Groundwater Fly-In, and NGWA plans to help raise awareness and increase membership of the task force at the event. If you haven’t registered for this year’s Fly-in, click here to learn more.