Groundwater Foundation and Franklin Electric Announce 2020 Recipients of Len Assante Scholarship

The Groundwater Foundation and Franklin Electric have announced the 2020 recipients of the Len Assante Scholarship. The Len Assante Scholarship Program, which is sponsored by Franklin Electric, is awarded to individuals who are pursuing educational opportunities to advance careers in the groundwater industry.

Applicant must be enrolled in a program offering formalized instruction in water well systems and/or water well drilling, construction, and service.

The 2020 recipients of the Len Assante Scholarship are Sky Blailcock, Jake Cobb, Bradley Mason, Lawarren Pickens, and Drew Smith. Each student is currently enrolled in their second year at Southwest Mississippi Community College in Summit County, Mississippi.

“[The program] Well Construction Tech most appealed to me as I sought to obtain practical skills that could help benefit others and better support my family,” Blaicock says. “Eventually, I hope to work overseas and use all the knowledge gained.”

Franklin Electric has long supported educational opportunities for those interested in pursuing a profession in the groundwater industry.

“With the Groundwater Foundation, we [Franklin Electric] are pleased to support the education of highly-experienced water well professionals and incoming talent. We believe it is vital for the industry’s future to encourage and facilitate knowledge and are inspired by the unique skills and passion demonstrated daily. Whether in the field or virtually, we’re proud to be your partners for professional growth and helping you solve new challenges,” says Ryan Johnson, vice president, US/Canada Water Systems.